Turn on thread page Beta

A level choices to study accounting or actuarial sciences at uni? watch

ReputationRep:
    I am going to sixth form college in september and currently thinking of become an accountant or an actuary, so i was wondering if these a levels would put me in good stead for uni

Maths
    Economics
    ICT
    Psychology

If not what do you suggest
    thanks

ps im new to tsr so sorry if i have done something wrong.

ReputationRep:
    Those are pretty good choices, maths is essential, economics will help, psychology and ICT are average but uni's will probably value psychology more, so if you were to drop one after AS i would reccomend to drop ICT.

ReputationRep:
    Also...maybe choosing a science instead of psychology or ICT would be good, and furthermore have you considered further maths?

ReputationRep:
    Drop ICT and pick up Chemistry I'd say, that would bring your chances up a lot more but depends where you want to study lol

ReputationRep:
    Drop ICT and Psychology, pick up a science and Further Maths.

ReputationRep:
    drop ict and psycology and pick up a science or even a history/language i am doing maths economics german history and further maths(AS) and ive been told its a great combination for this type of courses/economics as there all respected and theres lots of variety

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by sunspoon)
    Drop ICT and Psychology, pick up a science and Further Maths.

This was exactly my response

ReputationRep:
    I don't understand why there is suggestion about taking a science subject. Allystar is confident that he/she wants to take a degree for the financial sector. So I'm saying taking any science subject would not be useful.

So for me, assuming you want to take degree in actuarial science or accounting, my advice for you is to take
    1) Mathematics
    You need it for degree in actuarial science or accounting.
    2) Economics