Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    :eek:

My sister had been told today that she's being let go from Forfars bakery for being 'too small', having been employed for little less than a month. Has she got any rights here?

ReputationRep:
    I'm no lawyer but that's unfair dismissal, surely.

ReputationRep:
    Depends - were they on a trial period?

ReputationRep:
    Whaaaat? Unbelievable.

ReputationRep:
    Too small for what?

If it's a safety issue, they might be allowed to do that, though it still sounds a little illegal to me.

ReputationRep:
    To small, how small is small? Small as in not be able to fulfill the requirements of the shift required in this bakery place? I also think as above poster stated can be related to this. The unfair dismissal part.

e.g. someone previously got the sack as a waiter for having a shaved head. woman. I think she recevied something, will have to google it.

ReputationRep:
    Maybe she couldn't do her job properly due to her height? As un-PC as it may seem if it is a legitimate barrier then . . .

ReputationRep:
    I think they can only get away with things like that if they have a height restriction (to do with being able to do the job), such as the fire brigade do. They have lifted the height restriction but you must still be capable of handling things like ladders (which is more difficult for some people to do with height apparently. I only know about this because I was informed when I wanted to join as I'm 5'0.

I doubt a bakery has these restrictions in place though so I would certainly look at possible unfair dismissal.

ReputationRep:
    Unless she's a hobbit, unfair dismissal.

ReputationRep:
    Apparently she always has to get someone else to get the bread from the top shelf because she can't reach it...