Turn on thread page Beta

Explain the genetics of skin colour? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hm, my boyfriend has this gorgeous light brown skin (kind of mid brown now he has a tan) and dark hair, and basically he has really complicated heritage but to sum up, his mother has all British ancestors, his dad's dad was Irish/Armenian I think and his dad's mum was Portuguese/Irish and darker than the dad. My boyfriend's dad is a lot lighter than him though, kind of Iranian looking, so is his sister, so I'm thinking is there any possibility that the genes for dark skin can be recessive?
    Also, if by some crazy chance we end up marrying and having kids, will they turn out light but the grandkids are darker?:p:

Sorry, I'm a biologist and find genetics fascinating

ReputationRep:
    I don't know nearly enough about genetics, but surely if it was a recessive gene, he'd need two copies of it to have darker skin, which he isn't getting from his mum? So it must be dominant...

Bear in mind I haven't done genetics since I was in yr 11, lol

ReputationRep:
    I am blonde with greeny blue eyes.

Parents are dark haired, brown eyes and tan easy, my brother is also exactly like them. Cannot find anyone in the family like me, family gatherings are mind bogggling.

I FAIL.

I guess I am living proof that DNA FAILS. Hah I joke, I wouldn't like to take on science

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Cupcakee)
    I am blonde with greeny blue eyes.

Parents are dark haired, brown eyes and tan easy, my brother is also exactly like them. Cannot find anyone in the family like me, family gatherings are mind bogggling.

I FAIL.

I guess I am living proof that DNA FAILS. Hah I joke, I wouldn't like to take on science
    Haha that's pretty cool.
    My dad has blue eyes, my mum and sis have brown and I end up with green like my nan :p:

ReputationRep: