Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi Guys, I'm a UK student in the US working for the next 6 weeks and I need to get some money! I've tried to use my Visa Electron here in the US but it doesn't seem to be working, so I figure maybe getting some sort of prepaid currency card would be a good idea - just wondering what you guys think is the best, and most cost effective way of getting US dollars here whilst I am in the US, with Pounds?

ReputationRep:
    If you're working in the United States for six weeks and are getting paid in USD it's imperative that you open a bank account, really, unless you get paid in cash, and get some GBP wired over from your UK account. I recommend Chase purely from the fact that they don't have ATM charges (I haven't been in the US for more than two weeks at a time). It also depends how long you've been over there. If you're halfway through your placement there's no point getting an account at this stage.

ReputationRep:
    Do you not have another bank account in the UK with a visa card attached to it which you could get sent out there? Or borrow one from your parents/sibling? This would be the most simple way of doing things as it could be there in a couple of days if it's sent straight away. Or you could use internet banking to transfer your money into a parents account, then get them to withdraw it and get it stuck on a dollars cash card then post it over to you.