Reception Class problem - views please

Watch
This discussion is closed.
Kyrstie Burrows
Badges:
Report 17 years ago
I am a Reception class teacher in South of England and a friend has talked to me about her 5 year
old in another school's Reception class.

The problem is that it appears that - due to the children opening closed toilet doors, being noisy
and bad behaviour in the toilets - the Reception class teacher has "banned" her 4 - 5 year olds from
going to the toilet in lesson times. (This has come via the child and mother.)

As a Reception class teacher, and a mum, I know that you can't tell a young child to wait. If they
need the toilet, they need the toilet. However once they have been that's it, unless they have a
medical problem. The issue has got so bad the child concerned is coming back home in wet pants.

My suggestion to the mother was to go and see the teacher + new teacher for next year and ask what
the school policy / class policy is for toilets. Also check the child knows how to use the toilet.
The school concerned still has 2 -3 weeks to run and the mother is worried.

Can any other Reception class teachers give advice, seeing as its not my class or a problem I have
experience of dealing with. What systems operate in other Reception classes? I use the 2 chains, one
for girls and one for boys, system with PHSE lessons covering the need to return quietly and quickly
to allow others who are waiting to go too.

Thanks for any advice.

Kyrstie Burrows
Eddie Newall
Badges:
Report 17 years ago
"Kyrstie Burrows" wrote:
[q1]> I am a Reception class teacher in South of England and a friend has talked to me about her 5 year[/q1]
[q1]> old in another school's Reception class.[/q1]
[q1]>[/q1]
[q1]> The problem is that it appears that - due to the children opening closed toilet doors, being noisy[/q1]
[q1]> and bad behaviour in the toilets - the Reception class teacher has "banned" her 4 - 5 year olds[/q1]