Turn on thread page Beta

Anyone having trouble with SAAS funding watch

ReputationRep:
    I am really fed up! I have had nothing but bureaucratic bungling with my student finance.

In 2008/9 I commenced on an HND. As a disabled student I applied in July 2008 for an assessment for Disabled students allowance. Eventually SAAS arranged for an assessment in January 2009. I received the equipment in March 2009, six weeks before the first year ended.

The assessment itself was a nightmare. The assessor - a man who spoke English with a very thick Continental (I think Swiss) accent, was extremely insensitive, made rather insulting jokes about my situation, and was completely unable to relate to the practical difficulties I experience particulaly surrounding equipment that I use at home. He giggled non stop through the assessment and implied he knew more about my disabilities than I do. He suggested the most inappropriate equipment and could not even use the correct vocabulary or pronunciation and spelling.

When I finally received all the equipment I sent copies of all the receipts to SAAS twice! I then received a threatening letter stating that they were going to pursue me for the money if I did not send them copies of my receipts. I again sent the receipts, and again received a threatening letter! Not until I sent copies of the recorded delivery information together with an harassment act letter to the Chief executive did this problem disappear.

I also had a bad time at the college with a particular lecturer and withdrew from the second year of the HND because of serious abuse problems relating directly to my disability.

I have been offered an unconditional place at University this year. Now SAAS are refusing to fund my first year at University.