Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys. I'm an international student and I wish to study medicine in the UK after IB. My question is what are my chances at getting in? and which universities would I have a good chance of getting into with an IB total of about 38?
    I know the question is quite vague, so if you want me to clear anything up, I'll be happy to.
    Some of the universities I'm aiming for are Kings, Imperial and UCL.
    Thanks

ReputationRep:
    Pretty good since Universities tend to need international students since you'll be paying triple or whatever the international price was plus housing lol

ReputationRep:
    lol i guess, but then why do some unis take much less international students? i think UCL only take 24 for medicine???

ReputationRep:
    Well i know the universities can only take an "X" amount of intl students. I think its the gov't who put a specific limit on how many intl students the uni can take for medicine.

Med school IB requirements are here

ReputationRep:
    Not to sound pessimistic, but I've seen a LOT of very strong students get rejected from medicine in the UK. However, this is not to say that you shouldn't apply for it.

I'm an international in an IB school as well, and many of the people who've been rejected from medicine ended up getting 39-45 points (one actually got 45). The problem with medicine in the UK is that the NHS covers a huge amount of costs for each medical student - much larger than the amount each individual pays for his education. As a result, accepting international students means that the NHS is investing in people who might end up going back to their own country to practice their profession, making universities reluctant to accept international students.