Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I've decided i'm going to start going swimming regularly over the next couple of months before going to uni. I don't really need to loose any weight, I just want to increase my fitness levels and perhaps tone up a bit. However i'm not really sure how to start structuring my regime. For a start how often should I go? And how long should a session be or me to get a decent benefit from it? I'm also a bit concerned as i've never done lane swimming before; this might sound stupid but there really is nothing more to it that swimming in a line right? Any other general tips about getting the most gain from swimming? I realise the answers will vary but any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    Depends on your own abilities, but ill give your questions a go.

3 times a week
    40-60 minutes
    If there is more than one person in your lane you'll have to go up one side and down the other. Getting out of the pool(and crossing lanes) make sure not to get in the way of others. There might be a sort of social conduct where slow swimmers go in a certain lane and fast in another etc.

As for getting the most gain, you should try to vary your strokes as you go.

Hope this helps,

ReputationRep:
    dont just plod along for an hour, use structured sets

http://ruthkazez.com/50swimworkouts.html

ReputationRep:
    No advice for you but I just wanted to say I've just started to learn to swim had my first "go" last Thursday and managed half a length!

Not sure how I've gone so long without learning but it's kinda fun!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Greghouse)
    No advice for you but I just wanted to say I've just started to learn to swim had my first "go" last Thursday and managed half a length!

Not sure how I've gone so long without learning but it's kinda fun!
    Congratulations, its a good skill to learn.