Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Doing a degree other than Law, but want to pursue a legal career... Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm going to university this year to study Economics, but ultimately want to become a lawyer in a corporate sector which will appeal to both my interests (Economics and Law).

What I was wondering, however, is how things work for people not doing a Law degree in terms of applying for internships/training contracts etc.

Am I right in assuming that it is not until I graduate and begin the GDL that I will even be considered for internships, or could I possibly succeed in securing one whilst in the middle of my Economics degree (I have a lot of legal work experience / relevant extra-curricular activities and these should hopefully be developed at university).

Thanks!
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    My understanding is that those studying for a non-law degree apply for a training contract in the final year of their studies, i.e. the summer before embarking upon the GDL. It is possible for you to get vac schemes and placements on the Christmas workshops but again you would apply a year later than Law students.

ReputationRep:
    That's broadly correct.

My advice would be:

Work hard and get good grades on your degree.
    Participate in extracurriculars like debating, mooting (if available to non-law students at your uni), and volunteer work
    Talk to your careers office about the GDL/CPE/PgDip, and the timing for doing that.
    Try to secure some sort of informal legal work placements after your first and second year (it will be difficult, and you'll need to do it through contacts). If you can't do that, then just get some good work experience.
    After your penultimate year, apply to vacation schemes for the winter during your final year
    Apply to training contracts during your final year

ReputationRep: