Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

Sorry in advance, for this question - I realise there is an awful lot of information to help out there, not least of all on this site, but I am pretty terrible at making head or tails of it. I am an English student entering my third year, and I have been considering making an application for a Social Anthropology masters.

From the looks of it, SocAnth would only be funded by the ESRC if it was a research degree wather than a taught masters. But as I would be coming from outside the discipline, it seems that I would not be eligible to take a research masters without first having a bachelors or taught masters in Anthropology at many (perhaps all?) universities. Does this really mean that it would be impossible for me to get funding for a taught masters in SocAnth, at least from the funding council?

Thanks in advance for any knowing replies, and apologies if this turns out to be a silly question.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Dann)
    Hello,

Sorry in advance, for this question - I realise there is an awful lot of information to help out there, not least of all on this site, but I am pretty terrible at making head or tails of it. I am an English student entering my third year, and I have been considering making an application for a Social Anthropology masters.

From the looks of it, SocAnth would only be funded by the ESRC if it was a research degree wather than a taught masters. But as I would be coming from outside the discipline, it seems that I would not be eligible to take a research masters without first having a bachelors or taught masters in Anthropology at many (perhaps all?) universities. Does this really mean that it would be impossible for me to get funding for a taught masters in SocAnth, at least from the funding council?

Thanks in advance for any knowing replies, and apologies if this turns out to be a silly question.