Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying a degree in Accounting & Finance & Computing at a good uni.

Not enjoying computing very well and a poor year with a result of 2.2 overall (58 average) led me to think about other options.

I have an option to change my degree to a straight Accounting & Finance degree.

How would consulting firms view Accounting & Finance straight vs. Accounting & Finance & Computing?

Would I be disadvantaged with the latter since it's such a common degree?

I'm expected to graduate with a 2.1 overall.

Your ideas/advice is more than welcome!

Thanks in advance.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Jus_Chillin2006)
    Not enjoying computing very well and a poor year with a result of 2.2 overall (58 average) led me to think about other options.

I have an option to change my degree to a straight Accounting & Finance degree.
    Since you are at Kent and are on a 2.2 , your choice of degree will make no difference to your chances of getting a consulting job.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by flugestuge)
    Since you are at Kent and are on a 2.2 , your choice of degree will make no difference to your chances of getting a consulting job.
    I'd have to agree with this. OP, your best chance would to be to try and get onto an MSc/MA in Management or something similar at a top uni and take it from there. The 2.2 is a problem though.

Edit: Just realised you've not yet graduated. You really need to work for that 2.1, the prestige of Kent Uni might hold you back in terms of jobs, but a good Masters course could help a lot.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by loggins)
    the prestige of Kent Uni might hold you back in terms of jobs, but a good Masters course could help a lot.
    Good advice.
    A Masters from Oxford, Cambridge or at least LSE, would be advisable if you plan a career in Consulting.

ReputationRep:
    Good advice.