Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    are open univesity degrees taken seriously?

i am currently studying law at the open unversity and was nearly laughed at by a lady from a "brick" university to try and transfer credit

is it worth me spending 6 years on an ou degree? i am beginning to have regrets

has anoyone here found a decent role after studying at the open univesity/ or know anyone who has?

thanks

ReputationRep:
    It is well respected.

I know somebody who got a degree in computing whilst working in retail and now works as tech support in the house of commons.

The lady you had that encounter with doesn't really have any merit to judge considering she obviously hasn't studied with the OU or actually been an employer (assumuption).

From people I have spoken to, including my employer, OU qualifications show dedication and ability to organise and regiment your own study as opposed to being told what to do at a brick uni.

A degree is a degree at the end of the day.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ½+½)
    It is well respected.

I know somebody who got a degree in computing whilst working in retail and now works as tech support in the house of commons.

The lady you had that encounter with doesn't really have any merit to judge considering she obviously hasn't studied with the OU or actually been an employer (assumuption).

From people I have spoken to, including my employer, OU qualifications show dedication and ability to organise and regiment your own study as opposed to being told what to do at a brick uni.

A degree is a degree at the end of the day.
    Hear hear

ReputationRep:
    It is very well respected.

Don't worry about the lady. No matter which uni you go to, there will always be someone who thinks theirs is better.

ReputationRep:
    As the others have said, don't worry much about that lady. I posted this in another thread and it should help ease your worries.

Re: Open University - Good or bad?