Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm quite new to strength training. I'm trying mostly to tone my chest, with gaining strength a secondary goal. At the moment, i can pec fly around 56 kg (4 sets of 10), then bench press around the same number, and then do other chest exercises. My query is this...how much rest would you recommend? I do this workout around 4 times a week, but after reading up online, this seems rather foolish. Any help appreciated.

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    I'm impressed. Especially considering snakes have no limbs.

ReputationRep:
    You need to work your back otherwise you will
    a. look ridiculous
    b. get injured

ReputationRep:
    nothing to say he isn't ^

4 times seems a lot, I know for me once a week is good, my chest is usually crying for a few days afterwards

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by burningnun)
    a. look ridiculous
    b. get injured
    Oh I am actually doing it too, perhaps not to the same intensity though. But is what I'm doing OK, or do I need to do more / less?

ReputationRep:
    You do pec flies with the same amount you bench press? I'm convinced you are unaware of what at least one of these exercises actually is.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Chumbaniya)
    You do pec flies with the same amount you bench press? I'm convinced you are unaware of what at least one of these exercises actually is.
    Nono, I bench press with the same number of reps but lower weight (I have quite weak tricepts at the moment)

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Solid_Snake_100)
    Nono, I bench press with the same number of reps but lower weight (I have quite weak tricepts at the moment)
    This is even more alarming.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Chumbaniya)
    This is even more alarming.
    agreed, flyes are a isolation exercise, you sould be much weaker with them than with the bench press.

Unless its machines vs. freeweights, thats dif.