Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey,

I'm a Faculty of Arts student at the University of Glasgow, and just going into my 2nd year. Apart from the occasional stop-and-chat / smalltalk thing with a few people, I'm finding it hard to make actual friends, which is making it a bit dull between lectures. Anyone else in the same boat?

I'm in my twenties, coming back after dropping out a few years ago, so with the age gap that makes it more difficult - and I'm pretty shy anyway which doesn't help either. Maybe it gets easier when you get into 2nd year and the classes are smaller? Just wondered if anyone has had the same problem, and if so how did you deal with it? Feel free to send me a message,

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    I guess you never really met anyone in halls or did you live near enough to not go?

Join some club that is something you enjoy doing. Wether it's sports, arts, computing or anything. You'll meet people with the same interests as you.

If you don't wanna do that, just be more socialable with people in your class

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by leftofthedial)
    Hey,

I'm a Faculty of Arts student at the University of Glasgow, and just going into my 2nd year. Apart from the occasional stop-and-chat / smalltalk thing with a few people, I'm finding it hard to make actual friends, which is making it a bit dull between lectures. Anyone else in the same boat?

I'm in my twenties, coming back after dropping out a few years ago, so with the age gap that makes it more difficult - and I'm pretty shy anyway which doesn't help either. Maybe it gets easier when you get into 2nd year and the classes are smaller? Just wondered if anyone has had the same problem, and if so how did you deal with it? Feel free to send me a message,

Thanks
    Are you a member of any clubs or societies? If not, then is there anything that interests you enough to join?