Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello

I've been driving for about 9/10 months. However about three months ago I moved house so obviously had to get a new driving instuctor. I have not been driving for about six weeks. However a few weeks ago I started driving lessons again. My driving instructor is fine, however my driving has gone way down hill. I have seemed to forget all the basic things. Before I moved house I was almost at test standard and was so relaxed at driving. I expected to put in for my test before I went to university, however at the rate I am going I won't be able to put in for my test. I've only had a few lesson's with my current instuctor but it did not go well! I paniced, hit a kurb!, courned to quick ect.

I know it's only the first few lesson but i'm worried about not being able to get back into it. The area that I have driven in is different to where I used to live. I felt so scared and nervous when I was driving and am so disappointed in myself. When I was driving my head seem to go blank. Once lesson when I turned left or right I would change to 2nd gear to late, and as I courned I kept the clutch down even though my head told me to release it. Silly I know!

My instructor said it always takes time to get use to a new car, driving in a new area ect.

My first lesson I forgot all my mirror checks, but when I went for my lesson yesterday I did tend to remember most of my mirror checks. Which was good, but I'm still not happy as I was always told that driving is something you don't forget.

A friend suggested that I may be forgetting certain things because i'm to nervous. When I first started driving with my first ever instructor I was a nervous driving but then I changed to my old driving instutor and I felt so relaxed and confident. Just wondering as anyone else been though something similar and how did they get on?

Thanks to anyone who responds.