Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

What car would suit my needs? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

In about a month I'm starting a new job, and the drive will be a 40 mile round trip mostly on dual carriageways. I currently have a 1.4 peugeot 306, but my parents have suggested that I look for something slightly more economical due to the journeys I will be making. Plus it's getting pretty old now so could do with something a bit newer :bigsmile:

I would ask that people don't suggest a KA for the simple reason being that I hate driving them. I don't like the driving area and not keen on how they drive. I'm not being picky I just really hated driving the one I used a year or so ago. Even my old rickety 306 feels nicer to drive!

I've never tried anything else but I will try before I buy so any suggestions will be tried and tested first :bigsmile:

Does anyone have any suggestions?

ReputationRep:
    A small 4x4 would be good.

ReputationRep:
    A nice cruiser

E34 / E39 5 Series would be ideal for you.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Porscha!)
    A nice cruiser

Don't they come fitted with tillers and rigging as standard?

ReputationRep:
    vw polo diesel?

ReputationRep:

This? You could certainly get people to pull in if you wanted to go round them :p: Or just go over them....

On a more serious note, something with a high mpg. As much as I hate to suggest it, something like a Smart ForTwo? Or perhaps a Ford Focus if you can find one for the right price with a high mpg. Compared to driving my car, the interior of a Focus feels so spacious :p:

I don't know really. But those are my suggestions and I'm getting ready to be flamed by the people who actually know about cars.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by gamer91)
    vw polo diesel?
    I said that but my mum was like no no no it'd be far too expensive too buy and insure. :dontknow: Would you disagree? Diesel would probably be something to think about though