Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Would you take a job as a cleaner for a summer job? Watch

ReputationRep:
    I was just interested as to what people thought about this, because this job is often looked down upon. This discussion extends to other jobs with a similar reputation.

Would you take a job with menial tasks to raise funds, as part of a summer job?

x

ReputationRep:
    its a summer job your not going to be a ceo or anything ....

ReputationRep:
    Yeah, I worked as a cleaner and had no problems with the actual work.
    • CV Helper

ReputationRep:
    CV Helper
    No.

ReputationRep:
    No. Not degrading the occupation, but just not for me.

ReputationRep:
    Sure.

ReputationRep:
    I HAD to get a cleaning job 2 years ago at my school, to pay bills etc. I cleaned toilets, corridors and halls. - It was embarrassing, but I knew what I had to do to get things paid. However that was at my school.

I do a cleaning job in offices, cleaning office toilets and the general office place, so yes, I would take a cleaning job as a summer job.

Though if you want to make a comparison: e.g. Would you rather work in McDonald's or would you rather a cleaning job, I'd personally go with the job that paid more and benefited me more out of that. I would say McDonalds is more beneficial as it gives you the experience that employers are looking for. So if you ever want to quit working at McDonald's, you could use the experience that you earned at McDonald's to get a job in a supermarket for example. Though cleaning jobs just for the summer aren't bad and is better than nothing, if you are finding no luck elsewhere.

But generally it is a no brain-er, if you need money and are only looking for a small part-time job, then a cleaning job is better than nothing at-all. Most of all, it is something that you can add to your CV rather than nothing at-all.

But heck, why not? Someone has to do it, why not you?

ReputationRep:
    yes.