The Student Room Group

Advice from girls needed (about being mates with a loser)

Anonymous plz, I dont want ppl to know my situation.

I am a loser.

I try to get on with life, but I cannot really hide the fact I am a loser. I have no friends, hardly anyone of note likes me. I do not like to lie or hype myself up, because I don't see the point. I just like to let people know who I am and how bad my life is.

But even though I am a uni student, I find that at my dayjob it is the only place where I know people properly. I don't fit in at uni either (surprise) and just sit in lectures on my own until the day comes where I dont bother going to lectures again. So when I'm at work I can occasionally talk to people a little who actually give me a chance (usually managers or elder colleagues who dont judge people on 'loser' stuff).

I work on this department at work with a girl, who I guess is very popular and very good-looking (not that I'm ever going to be interested in sex or relationships), and because I see her more than other colleagues, I always say the odd thing to her most, even if it's just a passing comment.

Anyway I thought a while back that this girl was the closest thing to a friend that I had in my life, and I tried much harder with her to become friendlier and everything. I only wanted to be a workmate, someone to chat to at work. I was never creepy or anything like that, I always tried to say the right things, make conversation, be cool, show interest in her life etc (even if all that is hard for me as I don't have experience in talking like that). However, I have noticed that she now seems to be avoiding me for some reason, and it's hurting me a lot (partly because I get lonely with no-one else to talk to really).

I want some advice from girls mainly, do you think it's probable that a girl like that is avoiding me because she doesn't want to be associated with a loser?