Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

The idea of a mainstream against the alternative scenes. watch

ReputationRep:
    Ok, i called my younger cousin out for dressing like a girl for a laugh (indie, as they call it) and he replied by saying 'well you're conforming, you're mainstream'. And i was like 'wtf?'.

The way i look at it, people only become alternative as they are not accepted by the mainstream or don't feel they're getting their fair slice of the cake. If anything, people who are into alternative scenes do it out of necessity because of pragmatic notions of fitting in. So, if anything, he is conforming.

And if these alternative people want to really be pedantic, as a law student i'm going to be required to be in a couple of months, we all conform because if we didn't we won't be socially human.

So, why is my cousin such an oddball? Why does he and his mates wear girls jeans from TopShop? Why are bands like 'The ____' (i can't remember the ridiculous name of this indie band he always bangs on about with his mates) considered 'in' when no one else listens to them?

He's not the one that's odd...

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JCM89)
    He's not the one that's odd...

hmm ok, so you're basically agreeing with how it's now cool to wear girl's jeans. Jog on you ****** lover.

(Original post by Mr_Steve_Stifler)
    hmm ok, so you're basically agreeing with how it's now cool to wear girl's jeans. Jog on you ****** lover.
    Your cousin is happy being whoever he is and has like minded friends to share his life with. You are online whining. I'd say of the two of you, his life is in better shape than yours.

ReputationRep:
    What's so wrong with his fashion sense that makes it 'girly'?

Post examples.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JCM89)