Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    why are there little weights on the rims of my alloys? what purpose do they serve?

you can see them here on the bottom of the alloys...

thanks.

ReputationRep:
    They are to balance the wheels, to prevent you getting vibrations from the wheels and tyres not being perfectly made.

Without them, you would have juddery steering, and feel vibrations through the car from the wheels not being balanced.

You can get them attached to the rear of the rims on most cars... mine are all balanced on the rear face of the rim so they are not visible.

ReputationRep:
    As above.

You'd really know about it at high speed if they wern't there.

ReputationRep:
    As said before to balance out the tyre and rim imperfections, iirc alot of race teams cut off tyre instead of using weights.

ReputationRep:
    ah, that explains why i get such a nice drive from this 'beast'. ace!

it's my first time you see, with alloys :love: :P

ReputationRep:
    You get them on steel wheels too. (Almost) all cars have them - it isn't what is giving you a 'nice' drive, unless every other car you have ever driven was missing them...

ReputationRep:
    well, this is a lot smoother to drive than anything else i've owned. meh, i think i'm still on the high of getting a new car. :P

i've had an alto... i doubt that had them, they skimped on everything else
    a ka... ooo no, that had alloys, but it was light and stupid...
    and a 206... steelies!

they just stand out more on these alloys... though i never noticed them until someone pointed them out.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by pumpkin7)

i've had an alto... i doubt that had them
    Believe me, it would have done

Enjoy the new car high, I'm getting happy about the thought of being able to drive mine again after I finish building it :cool:

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by pumpkin7)