Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,

Here is my situation: I will graduate in June 2010 (predicted: 1st class) with a chemistry degree from a top 20-30 uni and did not go through the A-Level route (but the course requirement is 300 UCAS points if that counts for anything).

I have about a week's experience at a stockbroker (not much, but it's better than nothing), and although it was only a week, from talking to various heads, I've come to the conclusion that if I ever were to work in finance, it would probably be in equity research. More importantly, I have about 4 years experience in the stock market and have a big interest in fundamental based investing. I also have about £40k of my own personal assets invested in various vehicles in the stock market.

In terms of grades, I'm hardly the most stellar candidate (compared to someone from Oxbridge with AAAA A-Levels), but I think my investing experience and knowledge is WAY more important than grades.

I'm convinced though, that if I do get to interview, I can sell myself through my investing experience and general knowledge of the financial markets. But are my education credentials enough to secure an asset management graduate position in 2010? I think the BB firms are a bit out of reach for me at the moment, I'm thinking an asset management or pension fund analyst position is a more realistic target?

ReputationRep:
    Hey mate, if you have a 1st class degree in a quantitative subject I cant see why you wouldnt have a chance. I am also looking to get into equity research and from my research on the entry routes I would say that there are a lot of different ways into this type of work.