Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm wondering if anyone can give me some advice as to what I can possibly do to help alleviate the above issue.

I graduated with a 2.2 (with mitigating circumstances) and panicked and took on a job with BNP Paribas Securities Services, in the form of a rotation program in 4 business lines. Initially for a year it was going to be in Glasgow with the rest in London. The problem first arose with us being given back office/middle office roles however due to many issues the program has been getting worse month by month. I now need to prepare myself to be in a good position.

Would taking extra financial qualifications be a good to way to make myself look like a better candidate for other jobs on offer or are these an expensive folly which will be overshadowed by what i have actually done etc.

Any advice as to what I could consider doing?

ReputationRep:
    I, along with a lot of other grads on my scheme had pretty much the same problem. The scheme was advertised as one thing and we were given something VERY different. Good news is that there is a way out.

What I have done (and a good few of the other grads have also done) is to just start contacting other parts of the business (or other desks in your case) and tell them that you're looking to get into their division, a bit about your experience etc.. I found that each person I spoke to was pretty keen to get a grad on board and would go out of their way to help. Just get out there talking to people because there are always roles coming up that aren't advertised and grad schemes can often be quite flexible with this.