Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

(Long) My story, do I tell them? watch

Announcements

Anon or delete, please.

So. I've experienced my fair of **** through life. I had to move out when I was 15 cos my dad kept beating me up, those sorts of things. The list is long.

I'm a girl, and I'm very social. This might sound like bragging, but I actually have a lot of friends. A very few of them knows things about my background, most of them knows only things that has happened to me the last few years, and nothing from my upbringing or anything like that at all.

The thing I struggle the most with, is my panic disorder. Because of what my dad, my brother, my first bf, some random guy in the street one winter night last year and one of my best friends, - did to me, I have developed anxiety for guys. Not _every_ guy. I work in a shop, and I've never been afraid or nervous of any of the male customers, not any strangers at all, I flirt, I get with guys, and have loads of male friends. But it's the close friends! The friends I should be able to trust, the guys that really cares about me.. I'm dead scared of them! I know in my heart that they won't, but I keep thinking that they will hurt me. Be violent, rape me, try to kill me, anything really. So, obviously I've had to tell some of them. And the reactions has been varied. And I haven't dared to tell them all.
    One of my best mates surprised me with a hug once, and I started hyperventilating and fainted. Had to sit down with him afterwards and try to explain. Which is hard, cos I hardly understand it myself. And I don't want people to feel sorry for me.

So.. The question, and reason for me starting this thread is;
    When I move to this new place, hopefully I will get new male friends, and should I tell them? Is this something that people tell? And when? And if, at all, how?