Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I finished taking my first pack of 21 Dianette pills on Tuesday, and I still haven't had a period! I've had some brown discharge, but no bleeding. I never had regular periods before, sometimes months with nothing, except every now and again this brown spotting every few months.

I now have some cramping aswell which I never really used to get (with not having a period). I was prescribed Dianette to help my skin aswell, but there has been no major improvement. This is my first time on the pill, and I'm not sleeping with anyone, so no chance of pregnancy.
    Should I stick it out for another month and see if anything improves next month? Does it take time for your body to settle into a cycle?

Help, please! x

ReputationRep:
    Id contract your doctor. You need to make sure you know exactly what to expect from the meds you are taking

ReputationRep:
    You don't always get it straight away.. you can get your period on any day during the 7 day break.. i've been on pills where it's not come until day 7.. it's only Sunday, there's still time :p: If you've never had regular periods anyway, so could take a while for the pill to regulate you perhaps..

Oh, and there's a contraceptive sticky at the top of the sexual health page for questions like this!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Anonymous)
    I finished taking my first pack of 21 Dianette pills on Tuesday, and I still haven't had a period! I've had some brown discharge, but no bleeding. I never had regular periods before, sometimes months with nothing, except every now and again this brown spotting every few months.

I now have some cramping aswell which I never really used to get (with not having a period). I was prescribed Dianette to help my skin aswell, but there has been no major improvement. This is my first time on the pill, and I'm not sleeping with anyone, so no chance of pregnancy.