Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    How much do you typically spend on your car? It could be each week or monthly, or perhaps yearly. I am hoping to get one soon, Im a student and sure other students want to know how much its gonna cost to maintain one.

It should include insurance, tax, MOT et al..

ReputationRep:
    Shed loads
    Worth every penny though.

Never mind global warming, Save the V8! :cool:

ReputationRep:
    I paid about £2500 for everything when i brought my 1st car (vw polo 97' 1.6) that included MOT, tax, service, new cambelt, car and insurance. Then i spend about £10.00 a week on petrol!

My other half however has recently brought a 99' 1.4 polo for £725, insurance cost him £600, its had a service, new brake pads, new wheel bearings all for about £200, and the gear box has just about given up on life so that will cost him around £300 for a new one, it also cost him about £100 for him to join the aa and for them to tow his car back to the garage when his wheel seized up. So without insurance which he is paying monthly thats £1325 - EXPENSIVE!

I hate cars. ha!

ReputationRep:
    £25 a week on petrol, tax is £100 or thereabouts, insurance is £700 a year but will be ~£400 in a couple months time. It may sound like a lot, but ive probably spent that amount just on modifications, wheels, suspension, tyres, brakes, seats, ignition stuff, etc...

ReputationRep:
    As little as possible! :p:
    Insurance: £682 for the year (I'm 17 and only just passed so should be cheaper when I renew in January)
    Tax: £120 for the year
    Fuel: £10 a week usually, probably works out as being £550 per year though
    However, I also had to pay a hundred and something quid for a new alternator, so repairs can put your car bills up. Oh, and I need a new interior mirror which is like a tenner.
    It's not as bad as people think though, and far better than going on the bus everywhere

ReputationRep: