Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys, just wondering if anyone has got any good book recommendations for me. I'm a prospective medical student who also loves reading. I read so much that I thought that I should start reading medical related literature, seeing as when i get to interview they won't appreciate me garbling on about how much I prefer Joyce's Portrait of Young man to Ulysses.

Has anyone got any favourites that they'd like to recommend? I'm not talking BMJ, New Scientist etc, but actually books. I'm really interested in medical sciences, and also the science behind mental illness in particular, though I'm really open to anything, my interests are vast.

Thanks in advance.

ReputationRep:
    Not really a medical book, more nursing but its something really interesting about the history of healthcare

Florence nighingales: notes on nursing.

Really good if you like history etc, got some good things in there like "never speak to a patient when moving them" "Bad bedding= feverishness" Good for anyone interested in healthcare i think

ReputationRep:
    Catch-22 & Captain Corelli's Mandolin... to compare & contrast the representation of the medical profession.
    OK, so actually that was my A level coursework question & I had no choice over the books we had to do - why the consensus was for more war when we had to do a war synoptic paper, I have no idea. :rolleyes: But I'd recommend Catch-22, especially if mental health interests you.. though it's probably either love or hate!

Other interesting mental health related reads might be some of the classic (semi-)autobiographicals for a patient centered approach?
    E.g. Girl Interrupted (I'd recommend that especially), The Bell Jar etc.

ReputationRep:
    Not medical, but a very good book that you might like is Girl, Interrupted by Sylvia Plath.