Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Sorry to create another thread about league tables but i'm ever so slightly baffled and would appreciate some help

I'm doing a PGCE next September (hopefully) and am trying to decide where to apply. I studied my degree at Kingston University (not a great uni i know) but i saw they offer a PGCE course and quoted from their website "The School is rated among the top education departments in the country. The 2010 Guardian university league table has ranked the School as second in the United Kingdom."

http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/...uide-education

According to the guardian Kingston is ranked the 2nd best for education in the country :confused: is this right?

The Times stated that it's 35th (i think) but obviously the Guardian's table has to mean something? Does anyone know if employers will recognise this as somewhere substantial to study a PGCE?

Thanks for any help.

ReputationRep:
    Ignore League tables they are a load of ********.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Hana_87)
    You're on track to realising how truly useless these rankings tables are. You are seeing it for yourself. University rankings (in this measure at least) don't matter to employers.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by katierattray)
    Ignore League tables they are a load of ********.
    Ignore her, everyone who says that probably goes to a crappy uni (no offense)

Employers do not look at the ranking of the department but the actual university it self.

ReputationRep:
    But does this mean Kingston will still be a good University to study that particular course?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Diaz89)

Employers do not look at the ranking of the department but the actual university it self.