Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,

Some time ago, I posted a question concerning the degree I shoud study next year.. I hold a MA in Applied Ec. and a MSc in Advanced Ec. and I am intending to study a MSc in Finance next year.. i have 3 years of work experience (2 years as PhD student and 1 year as economist at a national corporation (>40.000)). I now want to pursue a finance career and I am intending to work in UK (the city) or Far east (singapore or hong kong). I now have the choice of getting the degree at MBS or at a Belgian school (UAMS).

I don't knw what to choose.. on the one hand i think that MBS will give me some advantage for the city (although there is massive competition of other Bschools). Do you guys know how the MBS degree is perceived in Hong Kong or Singapore for example?

On the other hand, UAMS is way cheeper (i don't have to rent a flat in belgium since I live at my parent's, it would be almost 20k cheeper), and I will also "learn" finance.. but I don't know how the degree is perceived (not so many UAMS students go abroad, since they prefer belgium..)..

so what do you guys think?

ReputationRep:
    If i were you I would first consider how employers would perceive someone with an MA + 2 MSc's and 1 year corporate work experience.

My personal opinion is that the impression would be negative and by doing one more MSc you would just be shooting yourself in the foot.

In the UK you can get into a good finance career on the back of economics degrees. A third Masters degree starts to look like eternal student syndrome.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JCM89)
    In the UK you can get into a good finance career on the back of economics degrees. A third Masters degree starts to look like eternal student syndrome.