Turn on thread page Beta

Legs still ache from Saturday watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm trying to lose fat at the moment with healthy/less eating and exercise (On day 9) and I've been jogging on the treadmill most days, but obviously I'm still very unfit.

On Saturday I did 10 minutes of bodyweight squats as well as the jogging, which I've never done before.

Yesterday my legs were really sore so I didn't do any jogging, and today they're still aching. Went on a walk this morning to see if that might help.

Is this normal?

ReputationRep:
    :facepalm:

Of course they're going to still ache if your, in your words, unfit and have never done them before.

ReputationRep:
    Hi sorry I don't really know much about fitness etc but when I used to start running again after a break my legs would sometimes hurt after it for a while. I used to find it helpful to try and stretch them a bit and go for a walk to make the pain go away quicker.

I think the walk was a good idea and your legs should feel better soon. Did you make sure you cooled down enough after the jogging as I used to find my legs hurt more if I just stopped running and then sat down, having not cooled down properly.

ReputationRep:
    Perfectly normal, your legs will adjust quickly. Get on the HIIT as well.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by The Boney King of Nowhere)
    Perfectly normal, your legs will adjust quickly. Get on the HIIT as well.
    Yeah, I've read about that on here. I do it some days, for 20 minutes. It's tough!

ReputationRep:
    You will be fine, you will probably do it next time and there will be hardly any ache at all.

ReputationRep:
    Wait, unweighed squats?

Or with your bodyweight on your shoulders?

ReputationRep:
    Yes, don't worry. In fact, after lifting weights I used to find that 2 days after my workout was when they hurt the most. You'll be fine tomorrow.