Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am a non-cognate student wanting to do a postgraduate course in either Building/Quantity Surveying.

I have to live at home in London so my choice of university is limited. At the moment London South Bank University offers the course I want but they are at the BOTTOM of the university of league tables. I am worried this well effect my job prospects upon graduation next year. I have written to construction companies asking if the repuation of the institution is significant and most of them have said no, as long as the course is RICS accredited (which it is at LSBU) though I can't help thinking this is just lip service and they are only saying this to appear neutral in their recruitment processes.

Has anyone studied at postgraduate level at LSBU and found it hard to find work afterwards?

Anyone done surveying at LSBU?

Am I just being elitist?

Can anyone recommend any other London universities?

Perhaps I should get out a bigger loan and move out of London to a better university?

ReputationRep:
    Hey. Yeah same situation here. Although I'm coming from a design background. Like you, I'm thinking about studying Building surveying at LSBU. I know its quite late to be doing research but I'm trying to find out what it's like so if anybody here has studied or is currently studying at LSBU then please let us know your views.

Personally, I don't think the uni league tables matter that much. RICS Accreditation far outweighs the reputation of the university.

After researching the RICS Accredited courses, it looks like there are only a few around London. Kingston is another worth considering.

ReputationRep:
    I've heard nothing but good things from LSBU's post-grad surveying courses, go for it.

ReputationRep:
    So have the three of you decided where you're going!?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Carlene23)