Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    hi.
    I'm starting my GCSEs next term....

i want to read some novels i would be doing next term,, during the holidays so i don't have to rush ...

What did you guys do ???

- i have no idea about this..... so, basically we get to choose a novel and take exam questions about it or something ???

anyway, What novels did you guys do ??~

thanks

ReputationRep:
    I have no desire to rake over my English GCSE It makes me feel exceedingly ill. But I studied To Kill A Mockingbird if you simply must know.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by zactissue)
    hi.

i want to read some novels i would be doing next term,, during the holidays so i don't have to rush ...

What did you guys do ???

- i have no idea about this..... so, basically we get to choose a novel and take exam questions about it or something ???

thanks
    For English Lit AS we did:

God of Small Things and Great Expectations (+ Browning and Tennyson poetry) for the exam.

Hamlet and Hedda Gabler for the coursework.

:yes:

Edit: Didn't realise this was for GCSE. I can't even remember what I did for GCSE...

ReputationRep:
    Oliver Twist, Macbeth and A View from the Bridge.

ReputationRep:
    Lord of the Flies, Romeo & Juliet and an Inspector Calls....you can't choose your own novels, so find out which ones your school does before reading anything

ReputationRep:
    Look, you need to ask your teacher. Not only to different schools do different books/poetry, different classes/tiers/sets in those schools do different books from the exam specification. Look up the specification? I'm sure the only ones for schools to choose for the exam are: to kill a mockingbird, lord of the flies, of mice and men and some other one.

It's an entirely different set for coursework, you don't 'pick your own' though.

ReputationRep:
    i did of mice and men and an inspector calls.
    english lit sucks btw

ReputationRep:
    hi.