Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys, I had a quick look with the search function but didn't have much luck.

Basically I've got about 9/10 weeks off before I start university and I was just wondering if there's anything that I can do to strengthen my CV and/or any applications for internships in the future. Apart from academic results, my CV is pretty bare and I have no work experience related to finance. Is there any sort of financial related work experience that would be available to me? I applied for an internship at Killik & Co. but they sent me some bullcrap about all the places already being taken up. Thanks if anyone can help!

ReputationRep:
    wow those killik and co people are nasty.

ReputationRep:
    its kind of late to apply for a summer job now .. so most places would be filled by now

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Milch)
    Hey guys, I had a quick look with the search function but didn't have much luck.

Basically I've got about 9/10 weeks off before I start university and I was just wondering if there's anything that I can do to strengthen my CV and/or any applications for internships in the future. Apart from academic results, my CV is pretty bare and I have no work experience related to finance. Is there any sort of financial related work experience that would be available to me? I applied for an internship at Killik & Co. but they sent me some bullcrap about all the places already being taken up. Thanks if anyone can help!
    Just try cold calling some small boutiques/asset management firms and see i they can get you in for a week or two's worth of unpaid work experience - it's not perfect, but it would look good when the time comes to apply for spring programs.

If you're worried about the CV looking bare, make sure you get properly involved in various teams/societies/committees at uni from day one, then pile it all on the CV.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep: