Turn on thread page Beta

nice, interesting, stimulating, sensual, arousing, Marxist and Feminist books watch

ReputationRep:
    I need some good books to purchase and read over the summer to do with my A2 English Lit course for the unit 4 critical anthology coursework.

Does anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    The Handmaid's Tale :yep:

ReputationRep:
    check out www.AKUK.com, they have a lot of books with feminist themes, and some with marxist themes.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Terryw)
    Just going through the wikipedia article. It seems amazing :woo: . Thanks alot.

ReputationRep:
    The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter.

The author was quite a femminist and many of her stories are packed with hidden meanings and euthamisims. I studied it for AS English lang & lit.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by TylerDurden)
    Just going through the wikipedia article. It seems amazing :woo: . Thanks alot.
    I did English Lit and it was a good book. I'm male though so some bits were a bit off putting :p: Lots of references to periods etc.
    Atwood does a few feminist books, so look into her as an author.
    The novel itself is referred to a lot in today's society in what some people think the future could be like. For reference, also read Orwell's 1984.

ReputationRep:
    I did English Lit and it was a good book. I'm male though so some bits were a bit off putting :p: Lots of references to periods etc.
    Atwood does a few feminist books, so look into her as an author.
    The novel itself is referred to a lot in today's society in what some people think the future could be like. For reference, also read Orwell's 1984.
    How was your coursework, if you don't mind me asking? Like was the book relevant enough. Because I heard that for A2 it isn't enough for the book just to have themes, it has to be deeper. :confused:

ReputationRep: