Turn on thread page Beta

Anybody NOT interested in working in London? watch

ReputationRep:
    From browsing these forums, it seems like almost everybody on here is aiming to work in the big London firms. Personally, this isn't what I want to do, and I'll be applying to some of the large-ish regional firms. I was just wondering if anybody else on here feels the same way. Or maybe some of you already have TCs at the regional firms, and would like to share your experiences of applying?

ReputationRep:
    I'm starting my TC at a mediumish/largeish regional firm in ... ooh ... about 6 weeks! Scary stuff.

I did my degree in London, but although I had a fantastic time and went along to lots of City firm events, I didn't fall in love with the place like lots of people do. Had a great time as a student, but knew I didn't want to stay there for life and didn't want the (lack of) work/life balance that goes hand in hand with most London firms.

So I applied to medium and large firms in and around my home town (Reading) which luckily has a fair few national and decent sized firms. I made all my applications at the end of my second year (did LLB) and secured a TC that season, though my plan had been to perhaps reconsider London if I didn't secure one first time round. Moved back here after uni and lived at home while commuting to Oxford for the LPC, and now I'm moving out with my boyfriend over the next couple of months (we're buying, so I'll be at home with my parents for the first couple of months of my TC at least while we get everything sorted).

My firm has around 100 staff overall, about 20 partners, and appealed to me because it's so broad - it does pretty much everything apart from crime.

Happy to answer any questions you might have about regional firms, as far as I can - obviously it can vary quite a lot from region to region.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by emmings)