Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Okay so I'm finishing off my accommodation application and have two choices...

Standard room with washbasin: £75 per week
    Ensuite room: £101 per week

Now, i would prefer to be ensuite but I am wondering whether I should with regards to other aspects of my finance

My maintenance grant and loan plus a bursary (not sure if i got it but i think i did as i'm eligible) gives me £7,200

Now overall the standard room comes to £2925 and the en suite comes to £3939

I'm not very good with numbers, money and finance really and so would like to know that if I got the en suite room would I have enough to afford food, spending and going out money too (I plan on having somewhat of a social life :p:)

I am going to look for a job when I arrive but with this recession I'm a little nervous I can find one so I'm seeing if i could manage without a job

ReputationRep:
    £101 for an ensuite room is quite expensive in my opinion...I've applied for a studio room and it's £110 in nottingham.
    I think it'll depend on other financial support you recieve lyk parents or uni bursary
    If you can stick it out and live in the standard room for a year then you should do that because you might not be motivated to get a job and the recession isn't helping like you said.
    Another option is to look for another accomodation

ReputationRep:
    what uni are you going?

edit: omg ignore me :p:
    ur sig jus answered my question lol
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    well the thing to remember is that all halls include elec, water and all other bills most give free ResNet (Internet Connection). £101 for ensuite isn't bad.