Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Can I complete my Biology A level, despite it being Old Spec? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm taking a gap year, intending to apply this September. Thus, I'm a student on the Old Spec.

I'm intending to retake 2 Maths modules anyway (I'm here until February so, given I have the time, why not bump it up to an A?).

I dropped Biology completing it to AS level, and got a B (1 mark off an A). Would it be possible to pick up the 3 A2 modules between now and Janruary in an attempt to complete the A Level?? I'm just confused over whetehr or not you have to be actually resitting a module to sit in Janruary, or whehter or not you can just do it for the first time to complete an ALevel.

Cheers

ReputationRep:
    seeing as its old spec, find out on the exam board website whether they are still offering the exam in january.

this is a good website for building an exam timetable:
    http://www.modernisationonline.org.uk/comptimetable/

ReputationRep:
    All the A2 modules are available for the last ever time in January, but none of the AS modules will ever be available again. Good luck!

Edit - Ah. Think you may have to be resitting though.

check the QCA website maybe?

ReputationRep:
    Here's the timetable thingy for it http://store.aqa.org.uk/qual/gce/pdf...INE-POSTER.PDF

ReputationRep:
    It must be a resit, not a first time thing.

ReputationRep:
    I'm think you can do that, least that's what I overheard the some guy in the exams office saying to some girl who was doing the old spec AS Chinese in the Summer. Why she was doing the old spec I do not know. You should contact an exam board for clarification.

ReputationRep:
    Contact the exam board.

However, I should think it's okay. It's not like resit candidates are treated any differently anyway.