Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I just completed a postgrad economics diploma from Uni Essex, scored a distinction and have been accepted into Essex and Warwick for Msc economics. I got my Bsc degree in Journalism in the USA and did high school there too - so no GCSEs/A-levels. The problem is the thought of another year of economics does not appeal to me at all. Im considering trying to become an accountant. Do accounting firms hire people who are older (30+) and with non-UK qualifications? thanks.

ReputationRep:
    I wouldn't have thought there would be a problem - so long as you're permitted to work in the UK and your qualifications are similar to what they'd expect from UK students your non-UK background shouldn't be a problem. Big firms may know what grades are acceptable for someone who went to school from the US.

I suppose having had less experience of UK tax might be a very small disadvantage but we've had people on secondment from South Africa, New Zealand etc at my fim and they seem to manage OK. My main reservation at the moment would be stepping into the world of work when firms are recruiting fewer trainees.

Is there any chance your MSc could get you some exemptions from accounting exams so you could switch to accountancy after you've done the year? You can check on the professional bodies's websites (e.g. www.icaew.com) whether either of those courses would get you some exemptions.

ReputationRep:
    Yes they do recruit older people - and you will need to have equivalent grades in your us school/college exams - hr will be able to tell you what exactly

however as noted above firms are employing a lot less people atm. it might be better doing your msc and hoping things improve by your completion date.

ReputationRep: