Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    How fussy are AQA with the original writing stuff? I read that someone made an alternate ending to Eargon and a sequel to Terminator (T5). My original writing was more restricted, I was instructed to write something ironic. Are you allowed to use such strong and blatant influences in the coursework? And how is it marked – is every original work assessed by the examiner or are just the teacher’s marks sent off?

Thanks in advance

*if you've seen this message twice thats becasue i'm new to this and have posted it somewere else,:sorry*

ReputationRep:
    Seems a bit stupid to do that, seeing as it's original writing. I wouldn't have thought it was allowed either but oh well. I would recommend not doing that just incase, and it's much more fun making up your own story anyway (or maybe I'm just sad). Can't remember how marking works, probably just like the other coursework where the teacher marks it and then a selected amount get sent off for moderation.

ReputationRep:
    I'm sure they would have changed the names and maybe added a few new characters, but would have kept the same plot/places the same... WOuld that be a massive problem?

ReputationRep:
    they expect you to be influenced, that's how all authors work. You just have to avoid blatant plagiarism...

ReputationRep:
    Oh yeah being influenced by something would be fine. Just from your post I had in mind that they have basically kept all the characters, places etc the same which to me is copying. Plus your not showing as much imagination if your only changing the ending of a book, cause the rest of the book has already been set out for you, if you see what I mean?

ReputationRep:
    I see what you mean, emilyjane_09, but if you only change the ending of a book, keeping the start and middle the same, the plot is already mostly done for you. Is that plagiarism?