The Student Room Group

Dissertation Weighting

Hi, I am new here, but I have been reading the forums for a while.

I don't want this to be one of those posts which is asked over and over again and no one has any real answers, so I'm sorry if it is!

I was just wondering if anyone had any experience of the weight of an undergraduate dissertation in their final degree mark? I'm sure it varies between departments and universities. I am doing my dissertation in History and I am joint honours.

My degree is split into 240 credits and the dissertation is worth 40 credits, but what I am wondering is if I am borderline a first/ 2:1, and my dissertation is a 2:1 or 2:2... is that likely to mean I will get a 2:1 rather than a first, even if most of my other modules have been of a first standard?!
Reply 1
At my uni our dissertation is 1/12 of our final grade along with the 11 highest modules from years 2 and 3.
Reply 2
I wish my dissertation could have the same weighting! 1/6 isn't going to do me any favours! I am currently researching it, and it is not going well!
Reply 3
Usually dissertations have the pwer to move you up or down a grade. In geology mine was a third of the final year mark hence becomes very important in determining an overall average.

That said I wouldn't worry to much about it. Dissertations are person and as long as you feel and have put the time into it you will do fine.
Reply 4
Emzallan
My degree is split into 240 credits and the dissertation is worth 40 credits, but what I am wondering is if I am borderline a first/ 2:1, and my dissertation is a 2:1 or 2:2... is that likely to mean I will get a 2:1 rather than a first, even if most of my other modules have been of a first standard?!