Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi to you all!

I am an American student applying for the M.Litt. in History at St. Andrews for Fall 2009 entry. I have a few questions that I hope someone can help me with:

1. I already have an M.A. from a university in the states for a different degree. Is it going to look bad that I already have a masters and am applying for a second one? I do have my undergraduate degree in history.

2. On the website, it asks that US students have final overall grade examples of a 3.6. I, unfortunately, only have a 3.5 . The website does go on to state this though: "Should you have qualifications slightly below the required minimum or lack a suitable first degree, please feel encourage to submit an application as only then can we make a fair and informed decision and we do not have an application fee!" Does it mean I still have a shot or am I screwed because of this .1 difference? I did, however, receive distinction in history from my dept.

Thank you everyone, in advance, for your help- please any piece of information would help! Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Ring the dept.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by erg2117)
    Hi to you all!

I am an American student applying for the M.Litt. in History at St. Andrews for Fall 2009 entry. I have a few questions that I hope someone can help me with:

1. I already have an M.A. from a university in the states for a different degree. Is it going to look bad that I already have a masters and am applying for a second one? I do have my undergraduate degree in history.