Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Would appreciate help on this matter Thanks in advance for reading I guess its more me getting someone on the outsides' point of view.

The background: Just finished a BSc in Physiology at Newcastle after being rejected from medicine originally, disappointingly received a 2.2. Was rejected from Bristol after interview earlier this year. Been accepted at Utrecht university to study medicine, just heard from Bristol that they are willing to place me on the waiting list.

Dilemma: I want to study medicine, full stop. It's been all i've been dreaming of for the past 5 years of my life, and I'm finally seeing things turn my way. Utrecht have guaranteed me a place to study medicine, and i've just filled out the final registration forms, however, Bristol have come knocking offering me a chance at studying there. I applied for Utrecht as a back up originally, and was absolutely gutted when I wasn't accepted at Bristol. I've since then phoned them up and they explained that I was near the top of their list of "reserves" but they can't guarantee me a place, and they've said that "if you hold a place at another university you should take that up".

Help: I need help to set my mind straight as to what would be best for me. Here are the pros and cons for each I can think of:

Bristol
    + World renown university
    + Great medical school
    + 5 year course
    + Taught in english (first language)
    + Close to home (at the minute)
    + Grown up in UK
    + Girlfriend is studying in UK
    + Previous degree will come in hand
    - Funding issues
    - Dislike England
    - NHS
    - Massive risk

Utrecht
    + Best university for medicine in the Netherlands
    + Cheaper
    + I'm Dutch by origin
    + Good NHS
    + Place secured
    +/- Previous degree will come somewhat in hand (language issue)
    - 6 year course