Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey,

I've been shortlisted for an interview for a funded PhD with the department of engineering at Cambridge. Apparently I have to select a college to apply to and have no idea about anything like that since I am a simple Warwick graduate.

So, in this roundabout way, I was wondering which colleges I should be applying to? I understand that some of them only accept postgraduates and this may be beneficial since there will be more places available for selection?

Cheers,

Nick

ReputationRep:
    Disclaimer: You may want to wait for someone more knowledgeable re: Cambridge (I only have 2nd hand knowledge of that uni).

I was in a very similar position earlier this year (awarded a studentship that was conditional on getting a college place), so had similar feelings of, "A college? Huh?"

I would go for the usual, "Have a look at information on the colleges and see which you like the sound of" route, but remembering that at this point in the year some have full subject/level allocations (if you've been shortlisted for '09-'10).

At the end of the day it's not too important unless you have particular needs/want to go after certain scholarships, as if there's no space at your preferred college and you are offered a funded studentship, I think they find you a college place anyway.

You may want to see which colleges those supervisors who share your academic interests are Fellows at?

ReputationRep:
    At this time of the year there won't be many options. If you aren't fussy, then just put no preference on your application. You'll probably end up at a grad-only college. If you were hoping, or would like, to be at a mixed college, I'd recommend asking the secretaries at the BGS, nicely, which colleges are still considering applications.

ReputationRep: