Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Should I learn in an auto instead? Watch

ReputationRep:
    So far i have I have been learning to drive in a manual car for 3 months but i have made very little progress, mainly due to confusion when using the clutch and taking ages to find the biting point even after 3 months.

Would it be better to learn in an auto instead as i feel i would make much more progress and be able to pass my test much quicker as auto's seem much less complicated?

ReputationRep:
    you will end up driving an auto the rest of your life, is the likely scenario.

enjoy life in the loser lane.

ReputationRep:
    Yeah, but you'll need to retake the test in a stick shift if you ever want to drive one.
    Also, automatics are much more expensive, and instructors that use them will be few and far between

ReputationRep:
    I have the exact same problem - do you have any Dyspraxic tendencies OP? People have suggested the same thing to me but I'd rather learn in a normal car despite major coordination difficulties. It would be much easier to get a car that way, but it's going to be tough. I haven't touched a steering wheel in almost a year because I had such difficulties the first time around...

ReputationRep:
    Then in the future you'll only be limited to driving automatic vehicles...

If that's what you want then go for it... because there's no turning back unless you resort to learning with manual all over again.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SaoPaolo90)
    I have the exact same problem - do you have any Dyspraxic tendencies OP? People have suggested the same thing to me but I'd rather learn in a normal car despite major coordination difficulties. It would be much easier to get a car that way, but it's going to be tough. I haven't touched a steering wheel in almost a year because I had such difficulties the first time around...