Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I have no idea what I'd like to do as a career!

I am twenty years old living in the UK, hoping to move within the next few years to one of the British Commonwealth countries to live and work for a while with my American girlfriend (who is living in the USA as well atm).
    I am currently studying music and just got my diploma in music performance. I am going on to do a foundation degree in it, starting September but am worried. I realised that there is very little in the music business I like, and the things I do like make very little money. The only sector in the music business I enjoy is the performance side of it, but even that I don't enjoy that much. I am a very introverted person, and play music for enjoyment. When I am forced to do it just to make money it takes all of the fun out of what I am doing.

Putting that aside, I do not have any other clue what other field I could go into and study. I feel so lost and scared!
    I know what I want in life. I just want to live with my girlfriend peacefuly, maybe a small family, caring for them, loving them...but everytime money gets added to the equation my life becomes turmoil, and Im not even living with my girlfriend yet! I know I have to work though. I also feel, we only have this life, and I don't want to be one of the majority of adults who spend most of their lives working, just because they have to make money.
    Sure, if there was something I really loved doing, then my life wouldn't be being wasted, and I'd be earning the money to support my girlfriend and family at the same time, but at the moment I have no clue what this could be!