Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I didn't know where to post this so have posted it both here and in the St Andrews thread.

Basically I'm trying to open a Natwest student account, but Natwest won't take my UCAS letter because it's over 12 months old (I applied for deferred entry and took a gap year) so they said I had to email St Andrews and ask for a letter confirming my student status. Which I did.
    But today I get an email back from St Andrews saying new students cannot open a bank account before they arrive.

wtf?!?!

they go on to say that all this will be done in pre-sessional week and I can get more information here (which gives me a link to a page directed at international students explaining the process)

Do you think that's really true that I can't open a bank account before I get there, or have they got confused and think I'm an international student?

oh and this isn't my first bank account, I do already have a current account with lloyds.

Thanks for any replies
    xxx

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by duracell)
    I didn't know where to post this so have posted it both here and in the St Andrews thread.

Basically I'm trying to open a Natwest student account, but Natwest won't take my UCAS letter because it's over 12 months old (I applied for deferred entry and took a gap year) so they said I had to email St Andrews and ask for a letter confirming my student status. Which I did.
    But today I get an email back from St Andrews saying new students cannot open a bank account before they arrive.

wtf?!?!

they go on to say that all this will be done in pre-sessional week and I can get more information here (which gives me a link to a page directed at international students explaining the process)

Do you think that's really true that I can't open a bank account before I get there, or have they got confused and think I'm an international student?