Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Very interested in particular in graduates from 2-3 years ago. Just wondering where your degree has taken you and if you have got into employment which without your degree you wouldn't have been able to.

Just interested as my brother has many friends with degrees who have been stuck with no prospect admin jobs due to the high number of graduates, and others who told him about hopw their degree gives them so many transferable skills for employment, but now they have realised these aren't really that valued anymore.

Thanks for reading, any input is appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    I can only think of users on here that have gone on to MSc/PhD or the d.clin.psych. There arn't really many in-work Psych grads that post on here, if any.
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    Well I graduated last year and I'm on a research PhD, so I don't think you could really call me a typical graduate. My friends have mostly used their degree to go onto posgraduate courses, some linked to psychology (educational psych or mental health nursing), others went to somewhat different areas (management or diplomacy). Of those who went straight into "real jobs" there's one who's gone into social work, one who went to work for a bank and one who's workign behind a bar (seemingly just to piss off her parents). With the excpetion of the barmaid, none of them could have got to where they are without their good psych degree.

Seeing as there is a recession on at the moment though, its probably not the best time to ask. People I knew from loads of different courses and universities are having trouble getting jobs right now.

ReputationRep: