Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Many apologies if this sounds stupid, but I'm a complete newbie to fitness.

I just got back home from 3 years of Uni, where obviously there was a lot more drinking and kebab eating than I would do at home. I gained about 2.5 stone at Uni, so I'm now 12 stone and 3 lbs (and about 5ft 8). I have a little bit of a gut but nothing too bad - I'd just like to shave off about a stone I guess. No real time frame for it, as I have no idea how long it would take.

I used my brother's treadmill today, and just had a mess around on it. I did the following:

0-1 min = just started off on the slowest setting, 1k (1km/hour I presume), and added another k on every few seconds.

1-5 min = by the 1 minute mark, I was up to 6.5k, and thought that a good sustainable plateau.

5-12 min = I was used to 6.5 by then, so tried 7k, which seemed again sustainable, but I thought I wouldn't push it beyond that as it was my first go.

12-15 min = Slowly dropped back down .5k every half minute until I was back down at 4k.

15-16 min = Raised it back up to 7k.

16-19 min = Stayed at the 7k plateau for a final run before I ended the session.

19-19:30 = dropped it back down to a walking pace and then stopped by 20 minutes.

My stats recorded on the treadmill were:

Distance Ran: 1.8km (1.12 miles)
    Calories Burned: 138
    And my heart rate as I got off was recorded at about 150, I think.