Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Pressured to read the classics? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Im studying A level English Literature, and a few people in my class are roaring through the classics like there is no tomorrow. I don't really like classics, they are not something i would choose to read in my spare time.
    Should i be worried, or should i jump on the bandwagon? I don't want to feel like im reading them to keep up with the Jones'.

How much will it help with my Alevel, seeing as im not planning to study this at uni?

Any advice?

ReputationRep:
    You're choosing english. You're going to have to read some classics - you'll probably be forced to as part of your syllabus anyway. Nothing wrong with classics - except for 'Tess of the D'urbervilles'. That ***** can die.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Kagutsuchi)
    You're choosing english. You're going to have to read some classics - you'll probably be forced to as part of your syllabus anyway. Nothing wrong with classics - except for 'Tess of the D'urbervilles'. That ***** can die.

I've no problem with studying them as part of the course. It's just when it seems like people are reading them for the sake of reading them?

ReputationRep:
    I wouldn't bother reading classics in your spare time if you don't like them, especially if you're not planning to do it at uni. Alevel tends to be quite narrowly focused on the set texts in my experience, unlike degree essays when there is often more scope for bringing in wider reading. Your time's probably better spent just focusing on the set texts, and do something you actually like as a hobby!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Paige7593)
    I've no problem with studying them as part of the course. It's just when it seems like people are reading them for the sake of reading them?