Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Im off to university in a few weeks and while i am there Im interested in starting or joining a band Im a self taught guitarist id say I could easily play a punk style band or a more demanding metal band but only as a rhythm player until i get more practise any one got any advice about how to go about it or ideas for a hilarious band or stage name

also Im not an idiot I don't have any romantic idealised ideas of being the next iron maiden or blink 182 i just think it will be a good way to make friends earn the occasional bit of money and meet girls or is this not the case for student band members.

ReputationRep:
    Most unis have Jam societies (or at least a rock/metal/punk/whatever society) for musicians to meet up and sort something out, so probably worth joining up to that.

The main problem I've found with jamming at uni is how to get everyone's equipment together without a car... amps are heavy Only real solution is find someone with a car, just jam with people at the same halls/live afew doors down, or use your student loan to get a light practise amp.

The most important thing is to get regular jamming sessions set up ASAP. These things have a habit of becoming all talk, especially with finding time to jam between uni social life and studying.

ReputationRep:
    In my experience it's bloody difficult to get a band together, and once you get a band together, it's even harder to keep them together.

I play pretty demanding music and write very demanding music, so getting musicians able to play it is difficult, but I don't know if that would be the case with more popular/less demanding music. If you want to start a deathcore/emo band today, I'd imagine it would be piss easy. But not anything worth starting!