Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi!

I'm a Canadian grad student, starting a DPhil in October. My partner will be moving to Oxford with me, and he'll be looking for work (he has British and Canadian citizenship, so we hope that will help).

I just heard from the housing office that I've been offered a 2-bedroom flat in the Alan Bullock Close. http://www.admin.ox.ac.uk/accommodat...uple/abc.shtml.

I'm wondering if anyone has lived there or is familiar with the building. 800 GBP is probably a fair price for the area, but I'm concerned about the quality of the accommodations. I'm wondering if there is sufficient natural light in the flat, if the place and building are clean, if it's generally a healthy and pleasant environment. :hmmmm:

Any and all advice would be most appreciated!

Thanks
    -purple

ReputationRep:
    some of my friends live there. it's pretty nice - there's certainly enough lighting and i've never spotted anything that seemed particularly dirty or anything. there doesn't seem to be much of an atmosphere (mostly people keeping very sensible hours, often with young children, etc) but i think this is what happens when you live with a random selection of grads.

ReputationRep:
    Many thanks, PN, that's very helpful, and very reassuring to know you haven't seen anything particularly dirty.

ReputationRep:
    You'll do a lot worse, basically- expect it to be fairly basic, but it'll at least be clean. Seems a pretty reasonable price, too, for a 2 bed flat. Most private student houses seem to be around £375-£425pppm from what i've seen, and it's only the larger houses that are at the cheaper end per person.

ReputationRep:
    Athena, thanks for the 'inside info' on the location and proximity to the bus station, the park and Cowley Rd. I've only been to Oxford once (well, twice, but the first time was ages ago and I hardly remember any of it) so all this is really good to know.